Mike Norvell & FSU Done Dirty as UVA’s Blunder Not Penalized

1 month ago 18

Rommie Analytics

On a wild Friday night under the lights, the No.8 ranked Florida State rolled into Charlottesville looking sharp after smashing Kent State coming off their bye. Virginia, meanwhile, had finally grabbed some momentum with their first ACC win of the season against Stanford. What nobody saw coming was the Cavaliers stunning the college football world, knocking off the No. 8 Seminoles in a 46-38 shootout. But instead of ending with pure celebration, the game slipped straight into drama thanks to an overtime controversy.

Florida State fans have every right to be furious after a questionable officiating decision during the second overtime of their game against Virginia. According to NCAA rules, starting in the second overtime period, teams are required to attempt a two-point conversion following a touchdown—field goals are no longer an option.

 

Mike Norvell is 100% right. UVA should’ve been penalized with a delay of game there for not knowing how OT works.

— Jack Mac (@JackMacCFB) September 27, 2025

However, Virginia initially sent out its field goal unit, clearly violating the mandatory two-point rule. Per the rules, the play clock should have continued to run, and Virginia should have been penalized with a delay of game when they failed to line up correctly. Instead, officials allowed them to regroup and switch personnel without consequence—essentially granting them a free timeout. That poor officiating handed Mike Norvell and the Florida State their first L of the season against the Cavaliers.

The post Mike Norvell & FSU Done Dirty as UVA’s Blunder Not Penalized appeared first on EssentiallySports.

Read Entire Article